Posted by: rlustig1952 | December 10, 2011

Merken Sie sich die Musik

I hate memorizing music. There, I’ve said it.

I understand all the reasons why singing off-book enhances the experience of both performer and audience (note I wrote “understand”, not “agree”), and I realize that sometimes it really is better to be free from holding a folder, but I find it an unwelcome and distracting chore. Actually, it’s not so much the music (which I can remember relatively easily) as it is the lyrics (which in this case are in German, Hebrew, and Yiddish). My brain is not wired for good short term memory (what did I have for breakfast again?), and sometimes the words just don’t stick even after frequent study.

But I’ve been asked to do it, so I will try my best. I recognize that to sing in an ensemble means sublimating ones own selfish desires for the greater good of the group (or as Mr. Spock put it, “the needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few”).

Does that mean Republicans don’t make good choir members?

BTW, I’m not the only one keeping a blog of the tour, so I’ve added links to the other bloggers. Check ’em out!

Leave a Reply

Categories

